My Cricket chirps - and rattles

Have a love for a bygone era? Discuss you vintage loves here!

My Cricket chirps - and rattles

Postby Falstaff » September 19th 2018, 11:25am

On a whim I picked up a mid 60s vintage Vulcain Cricket on the bay. Model # S2314A gold plated manual winder with a V120 (?) movement. 35mm, some chipping of the plating and a little too much polywatch on the acrylic crystal but a terrific dial - looks great on the wrist. All functions working properly (time winding, alarm winding, time set, alarm set and alarm disable), power reserve 38 - 40 hrs. alarm duration 20 seconds and plenty of alarm volume - but there's a "rattle" (makes the same tone as the alarm) when I shake my wrist from side to side (12 to 6) but disappears when watch is shaken front to back (9 - 3). Clearly this has something to do with the alarm hammer mechanism but I'm reluctant to pop the case back since it is within the return period. I'm not a Cricket expert, so I don't know whether this rattle is characteristic of Crickets in general. Can anyone opine?
"Be careful with that axe, Eugene."
Falstaff
Watchlord WIS

Re: My Cricket chirps - and rattles

Postby conjurer » September 19th 2018, 11:43am

this Wood knot happin With a invicter GODAM it.
I checked you out, and I now want you to take the journey to lick my taint. It's small, but vast.

--Temerity, to Mr. Neckbeard.
conjurer
ASSHAT & Master of Time

Postby foghorn » September 19th 2018, 12:11pm

Considering the watches age I wouldn't be alarmed.

Why, he's no fun, he fell right over.
foghorn
Founding Member & Master of Time

Postby JAS1125 » September 19th 2018, 12:22pm

JAS1125
Watchlord WIS

Postby Falstaff » September 19th 2018, 2:30pm

You fellows are a veritable goddamn fount of helpful information!
Falstaff
Watchlord WIS

Postby MKTheVintageBloke » September 19th 2018, 2:46pm