New here - hello from East Coast of US!

New here - hello from East Coast of US!

Postby PiningforElgin » July 2nd 2017, 8:47pm

Pleased and honored to be joining this watch forum. I'm somewhat new to watch collecting as I'm just a few years off college and only acquired the modest means to procure watches in recent times. Currently all of my watches would be considered in the "affordable" price range, relatively speaking.

I live on the east coast of the U.S, as of now a little bit to the northern side, though I've resided on both sides of Mason-Dixon at various times.

One of my favorite watch brand (with watches of which I now own) is Tissot, though I'm not 100% happy with their recent focus on marketing the sporty quartz type watches as I believe their automatic watches with ETA and Valjoux movements are their stronger points. I am also a big fan of the Orient brand/company, in particular their Bambino line (with the domed crystal in the style of 1960s dress watches). But I am a sucker for watches from different countries - in my current collection there is Switzerland (Tissot & vintage Swatch), Japan (Orient & Seiko), China (Seagull movement, nameless brand) and Belarus (Luch). Aiming for future purchase from Russia (Vostok), France (Yonger et Bresson maybe?) and Germany (really want a Nomos when I get more budget) and finally United States (Weiss, RGM - I hope US watchmaking can be revived again hence the username). The high-end watch brands I'd like to own watches of but currently cannot afford are aforementioned Nomos and Tudor (which is basically Rolex just less pretentious).