An argument for quartz watches

An argument for quartz watches

Postby koimaster » January 1st 2018, 10:07pm

In this blog post I want to give my personal opinion as to why I think every watch collector should own quartz watches alongside their mechanical watches.

I am fairly new to watch collecting and based on all of my early research I began by purchasing only mechanical watches. While I have a fascination for the intricacies of mechanical movements, I still think there is a place for quartz watches in any collection. I know there are many watch collectors who will gasp in horror at the very thought of purchasing a quartz watch, but hear me out, and I might just change your mind.

https://malcolmsmusingsandstuff.wordpre ... z-watches/

1946-2006

“Your heart was warm and happy

With the lilt of Irish laughter

Every day and in every way

Now forever and ever after."
koimaster
Administrator/Founder

Re: An argument for quartz watches

Postby bedlam » January 1st 2018, 10:54pm

The servicing cost is less than a mechanical because its quartz? There are many things that figure into service costs that are not about the movement. Certainly, I'll swap him the next service on my SBBN013 for any mechanical watch he likely owns.
"If I could put a finger on the moment we genuinely fucked ourselves, it was the moment we decided that data was something you could use words like believe or disbelieve around...

The Water Knife

Paolo Bacigalupi
bedlam
Master of Time

Postby foghorn » January 2nd 2018, 4:32am

I haven't thrown this up here for awhile.

http://forums.timezone.com/index.php?t= ... 26&rid=130
GET OFF MY LAWN

Finding out the time is about as difficult as finding a cheesburger.
boneyguy, Sep 12, 2007 #12
foghorn
Founding Member

Postby codguy » January 2nd 2018, 5:58am

If the op is worried about intial cost and servicing of man jewelry, perhaps he should spend his money elsewhere.

Some people loves them some cheap watches, I don't fit that category.